top of page
  • Writer's picturecraftwrxtoronto

Just MESHING Around...

Updated: Oct 5, 2022

Lately I've been experimenting with creating a MESHY look. I've got THREE patterns in the works. One is a skirt that is in the testing phase right now. The deadline to apply is

Sept 22. If you'd like to give this pattern a try you can apply HERE.

When I find something I like to make, I usually make a bunch of them! My daughters are always laughing at me and saying " Sooo......what's it going to be THIS week?"

This MESH combo of stitches is super simple and quite medatative. A great accompaniment to binge watching Netflix.... AND.... totally beginner friendly. It's QUICK.

It looks GOOD. It doesn't require overthinking. That's why I LIKE it!

Stay tuned for more MESH PATTERNS: The Don't Mesh With Me Pullover, Vest & Dress.

 

THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX


I've been paying attention to HOW and WHAT I have been choosing to make.

Creating patterns has been completely thrilling for me! I've realized that there is so much room for CREATIVITY within each pattern that I design. One of the patterns I have in the works right now started as an idea for a TOP, but as I was writing it up I realized it could also be a cowl or a skirt as well. I'm testing this pattern now so keep an eye out for it! It's fun and customizable! We are doing this as a CAL (crochet along). I hope to have the pattern release by mid October. Here are a couple of photos at various stages of the TESTING phase:



 

THINGS TO EXPLORE THIS FALL:



#1 - Experiment with different hook sizes!


The yarn you buy will always have a suggested hook size on it. What would happen if you DIDN'T FOLLOW that reccommendation? It could be terrible and you end up FROGGING it OR it could turn out AMAZING!!! You don't know unless you try!


I used Lion Brand Ferris Wheel in Sprinkles for the "Don't Mesh With Me Skirt" pictured above. Suggested hook size was a 5mm. Since I was looking to create a MESH vibe I went with an 8mm hook. I already crochet a bit looser than average but I loved this yarn and I though - why not try it? And... I LOVE the way it turned out!


 

#2 - Get out of your comfort zone &

combine colours in a new way!

I'm in the midst of writing up a pattern for the IRIS TOP (pictured above)

It's another great way to use up small amounts of yarn in your stash. Of couse you can always make it out of one colour too, that's totalIy fine but these days I'm into mixing and matching yarns. I spent quite a while going through my yarn trying to choose what to use. I usually lean towards brighter colours but I loved the way the grey and smokey blue yarns medled together so I went with that combo. However...... something was BUGGING me. There was this ball of variagted HOT PINK that was CALLING to me! My inner voice kept saying: "NO! You can't mix those with the pink". The more of the Top I crocheted, the louder the voice got and I thought "Hey, I'm gonna DO IT! I'm going to add the pink!". I am SO HAPPY I did. I LOVE it!

 

#3 - Be Proud of your slow fashion!

I will be at the Annette Village Market Sept 21st btn 3 - 7 pm.


YOU MADE IT! I'm going to say it again...YOU MADE THIS PIECE OF AWESOMENESS so go ahead and wear it because it's AWESOME!!!!

BE PROUD of yourself and share your TALENT with the world!!!

 

#4 - Use up your yarn scraps &create something fun!


The past month has been all about scraps for me. I have used up a ton of my ends creating so many fun pieces. All completely unique. I encourage you to use what you have before going out and buying more yarn (said the woman who went out and bought more yarn last week...only becasue she used up all her ends and now needs more yarn ends!)

I had a blast creating these legwarmers. What a fantastic TEST GROUP!!!. I loved seeing what people had in their yard stash, yarn ends.... The La La Legwarmers will be relaesed at the end of Sept. Sneak peak below.....

 

#5- Most Importantly: HAVE FUN!

This most awesome overalls pattern was designed by the fabulous @pink sheepdesign

 

Happy Crocheting!

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page